Spread the Yellow Wave

Gelombang Kuning (Photo credits: Bersih)

As a member of civil society, I am tired of the constant news about political violence in my country, not to mention the stories about foreigners being flown in to vote for Barisan Nasional (click on this article to read more: http://www.sarawakreport.org/2013/05/down-at-the-airport/). I am ready to do something about it and thanks to the fact that I work in an awesome NGO like AWAM, I can!

 

Join me and my colleagues and friends as we do the walk-about around Petaling Jaya tomorrow to spread the yellow wave with ribbons and BERSIH bookmarks! I want to send a clear message to the government that I and other Malaysians oppose all forms of political violence and we support the call for free and fair elections. I also want to see my neighbourhood covered in yellow by nightfall. This is because I sincerely believe in the power of positive collective action. Authoritarian regimes worse than ours have been toppled thanks to the power and actions of the people. I think underestimating ourselves is our biggest downfall and it simply won’t do to carry on in this manner, especially at such a pivotal time for our country.

yellow ribbons

 

Change will never come easy and it is something we have to work towards. This government is not going to leave easily and I want to do everything in my power to make sure that they go because I will not let my country be ruled any longer by Barisan Nasional. I am finished with Najib Razak and his leadership which I believe has let the country down and a big part of it has to do with the mismanagement of our finances. For someone who doesn’t really care about money, this is saying a lot. I am a witness to Pakatan Rakyat‘s prudence in financial affairs and I support them for this reason, amongst many others. Under Pakatan Rakyat’s leadership, the Selangor state managed to save RM 16 million whereby previously their accounts were in deficit. This is indeed a truly magnificent accomplishment.

I have much more to say about the Opposition as well as our current caretaker government but I digress from my purpose. This is really a call to all Malaysians to forget the politicking, mud-slinging and violence. Let’s join hands and paint our respective neighbourhoods yellow to send a clear message to, not just the government, but to everyone watching that we stand behind the ideals of a true democracy which naturally starts with free and fair elections. I also want to do this because I want to remind my fellow Malaysians that we are a peace-loving people. Being disrespectful, racist and intolerant is not congruent with our values and we need to remember that during these important times.

Come joins us tomorrow (Saturday, 4th May) at 10 AM at the following venue: 

AWAM centre @ No. 85, Jalan 21/1, Seapark, 46300 Petaling Jaya

We will conduct a short briefing for everyone and then split into groups. We will aim to start walking-about by 10.30 AM. The idea is to spread the yellow wave, spread the word, get others to do so and also do voter education. We have 4,000 Chinese and Bahasa flyers on ‘How To Vote’ which we can distribute along with yellow ribbons and bookmarks.

There is an events page on Facebook, feel free to share this as well: https://www.facebook.com/events/373239606129194/

Please help me spread this news around and bring your friends. It’s going to be a super fun and YELLOW day. See you there people!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

